Joseph Pulitzer established the famous prize that bears his name in his will, and the award was first given in 1917, six years after his death. While only four prizes were given initially - two in journalism and two in letters, drama, and music - there are 21 Pulitzer categories today. Columbia University administers the prize, though finalists and winners are selected by the independent Pulitzer Board.

Several of the categories are collaborative and involve traditional-style newsroom journalism, where multiple writers and editors work together on an important story and share the Prize. Others, like political cartooning, have only been awarded to individuals.

For this list, all winners are counted in cases where several people share one award. Additionally, different undergraduate and graduate schools may each claim the same winner, so each is given credit for a win. For example, Thornton Wilder, a three-time Pulitzer winner, attended Yale as an undergraduate and Princeton for his master's. On our list, each school is credited with three wins. In the case of ties, schools are listed alphabetically. Many schools list faculty who have won Pulitzers; our list reflects only the schools that winners attended.

Liquid error: internal
Sort By
School Location Toggle